Notice: The called constructor method for WP_Widget in CTC_Widget is deprecated since version 4.3.0! Use
instead. in /data05/c8473699/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3902
Announcements made on London Assembly committee chairs –


Conservative members have been selected to chair the following London Assembly committees:

Tony Arbour – Chair of the London Assembly


“I am honoured to have secured cross-party support in regard to this appointment. I will dedicate myself over the next year to ensuring that the new administration at City Hall is held to account.”


Gareth Bacon– Chairman of the Budget & Performance and Oversight Committees


“The mayor is responsible for a budget of over £17 billion and the work of the Oversight and Budget & Performance committees is vital in ensuring tax payers’ money is not wasted. I will be working hard to make sure every penny spent is scrutinised.”


Andrew Boff – Chairman of the Housing Committee


“As someone who was born in a council house, has rented in inner London and bought in Barking, I want as many Londoners as possible to have the opportunities that I have had.”



Steve O’Connell – Chairman of the Police & Crime Committee


“It is more important than ever that London has a police force that is able to meet the challenges this city faces. I look forward to scrutinising the work of MOPAC and the Metropolitan Police to ensure our police service is fit for purpose.”


Tony Devenish – Chairman of the Planning Committee


“The planning committee has a vital role to play in shaping London over the coming decades. By 2036 the population will have reached 10 million and we need to find sensible and sustainable housing solutions to cope with this increase. I intend to fully scrutinise the London Plan to ensure it is delivering the housing and infrastructure Londoners want and need.”